Barford St Martin
A small picturesque village whose history can be traced back to the 11th Century. Referred to as Bereford in the Domesday Book of 1086 which is thought to have originated from Barleyford-a river crossing carrying wagons laden with barley; at one time a characteristic crop in the area. The villagers of Barford formerly enjoyed the same forest rights as the villagers of Great Wishford, and were able to gather wood from Grovely Wood on Oak Apple Day (29th May). Today, the Ceremony is only observed in Great Wishford.